Lifestyle

24 hours in Brighton: My Brighton Hotel

Last week I went away for my first work conference – in Brighton! Brighton had been on my list of places to visit in the UK for a long time and I was pleased to have a reason to explore. Our CEO even suggested that we fly up, as travelling on the train from Cornwall is an absolute nightmare, so I was able to tick another first off my list. Yep, I flew for the first time at the ripe old age of 30.

Flying from Newquay to Gatwick

Flying from Newquay to Gatwick

Flying from Newquay to Gatwick

I wasn’t sure how anxious I’d be flying for the first time, so I made a point of not looking out of the window on the outward journey and focused on my book, trying to convince myself that I was just on a train. Coming back, we hoped to have a sunset flight but it was delayed over two hours. Turns out flying in the dark helps and I looked out of the window on the way back down. Oh, I was also frisked and searched at Gatwick coming back. Fun.

The conference was at the University of Sussex and we were visiting some colleagues in London the next day, so it was important that we stayed somewhere central. As a blogger, obviously it was also important to make the most of this opportunity and stay somewhere Instagrammable, close to as many Instagrammable places and eateries as possible. Turns out Brighton has that in spades!

I suggested My Brighton, an eight-minute walk from the train station and a short walk from the Pier (about ten minutes, even when stopping to take photos on the way). It was £108 a night for a superior double room and you can add a continental breakfast for £12 (we chose to eat out).

My Brighton Hotel - review

My Brighton Hotel - review

My Brighton Hotel - review

My Brighton Hotel - review

My Brighton Hotel - review

My Brighton Hotel - review

The rooms come with air conditioning, WiFi, integrated sound system, en-suite shower room, complementary tea and coffee facilities, Illy espresso machine with pods, work station, floor to ceiling window with views (mine looked out on the library and book shop – perfect for this book blogger!), toiletries, safe, mini bar (we had £10 credit per room – hello, Prosecco!), hair dryer, wardrobe, work station, laundry services, iron and ironing board. We also had 20% off at the bar. If you’ve got more money to spend, there are some super-fancy rooms available too.

My Brighton Hotel - review

My Brighton Hotel - review

My Brighton Hotel - review

My Brighton Hotel - review

My Brighton Hotel - review

My Brighton Hotel - review

My Brighton Hotel - review

My Brighton Hotel - review

My Brighton Hotel - review

I had a super comfortable night’s sleep. I can’t remember the last time I slept alone and definitely made the most of the peace and quiet. I went to bed early and caught up on Neighbours and This is Us, with some snacks and mini bar supplies, before falling asleep around 10.30pm. Although, out of habit, I still stuck to one side of the bed rather than star fishing.

There’s also a TV and DVD player in the room with a selection of DVDs to borrow downstairs, plus books.

My Brighton Hotel - review

My Brighton Hotel - review

My Brighton Hotel - review

My Brighton Hotel - review

Oh, and the lights change colour! More on the unicorn tomorrow in my next Brighton post.

My Brighton Hotel - review

We popped into the book shop before realising we we’re right next to the hotel and I had to pick up a few postcards. I’m thinking about getting a collage frame for them.

The Book Lover Shop, Brighton

The Book Lover Shop, Brighton

The Book Lover Shop, Brighton

The Book Lover Shop, Brighton

Fortunately the conference is an annual occurrence, so I’ll definitely be putting in a request to attend again next year. I’ll try and sample the restaurant and bar next time too.

Join the discussion...

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.