Film

The Movie Tag

I was a film blogger for a good few years and some days I really miss it. Sure, I incorporate film as part of this lifestyle blog but I miss knowing what’s on the festival circuit, what’s smashing the box office and which indie actors are breaking through. So, in memory of those days, I’m having a crack at the Movie Tag, which I saw yesterday on Into The Bookcase.

Favourite movie of all time
I always hate this question but Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind has been my go-to title for a few years now. But if I think too much about what people mean by favourite (most watched, best made, most loved…) I start thinking about the importance and finality of my answer. Really.

eternal sunshine of the spotless mind

Favourite scene from that movie
Oh my god! I should have read through these questions properly before I started writing the post. One of the things I love most about this film is Gondry’s in-camera effects and the gorgeous cinematography. I’m going to have to go with the elephant scene, with Kirsten Dunst reciting the titular lines over the top.

Favourite actors/actresses
I’ve got a helluva list – Audrey Hepburn, James Dean, James, Stewart, Cary Grant, Katherine Hepburn, Kate Winslet, Emma Stone, Emily Blunt, Joseph Gordon-Levitt, Mark Ruffalo…

Most annoying actors/actresses
Katherine Heigl, Kate Beckinsale, Jessica Alba, John Malkovich, Keira Knightley… If I looked through my DVD collection as I wrote this I’d more than double the list in both these questions.

Best director
Best? Not favourite? Argh! Hitchcock, Spielberg, Nolan, Fincher, Coppola (Sofia), Crowe, Almodovar, Tarantino… You can’t single out one! They’ve all done so much for cinema.

Favourite guilty pleasure film
My most watched films (and those I can quote virtually line-for-line) are Hitch, 10 Things I Hate About You and Two Weeks Notice.

10 things i hate about you film poster

Favourite tear-jerker
Ah, I can’t think about films that make me cry at the moment – I’m far too hormonal! I can’t watch the end of Marley and Me. If someone else is watching it I make them turn over or I leave the room when they love house for the last time. The Notebook is a film that always makes me cry but which I’ll still sit through til the end.

Character from a movie that scared you the most
The Birds, The Blair Witch Project and The Orphanage all really freaked me out the first time I saw them but they don’t have particularly awesome, stand-out characters. The Scream franchise is a guilty favourite, however, and I loved Randy. He appealed to the film geek in me.

Movie you love that everyone hates
That’s a toughie! I’m going to go with a film I love that the boyfriend hates – the 1960s Batman movie! So much nostalgia!

Movie you hate that everyone loves
I’m really not a fan of the LOTR/Hobbit films.

Favourite movie duo
Scorsese and DiCaprio!

Favorite animated movie?
The Lady and the Tramp.

Actor/actress crush?
Joseph Gordon-Levitt was top of the list for a while…

Favorite movie villain?
Heath Ledger as The Joker in The Dark Knight. Flawless!

What movie surprised you the most?
I’m incredibly judgmental and missed a lot of films the first time round because I assumed they were something they weren’t. I was pleasantly surprised by Leon, So I Married An Axe Murderer and New Police Story. They now rank in my all-time faves.

so i married an axe murderer film poster

If you could only keep one movie what would it be?
Woah! Um… Can I keep my Before Sunrise/Sunset boxset?

Movie recommendation and for whom?
Everyone should watch Boyhood. It was one of the most talked about films of last year for a reason.

If you could go back in time and marry an actor/actress from back when (now old) who would it be?
James Dean? James Stewart?

One remake you wish had never been made?
Psycho. What was the point, really?

About to die but could only watch one more movie what would it be?
It’s A Wonderful Life.

Favorite movie genre/favorite movie from that genre?
Quirky indies. The Station Agent ranks highest on my Flickchart account.

What’s the first movie you remember watching in theaters?
Bambi.

If you fancy having a go, link me your post below. I’d love to read it.

2 thoughts on “The Movie Tag”

Join the discussion...

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.