Exploring Cornwall: The Alverton, Truro

Last summer I was invited to The Alverton in Truro to sample their afternoon tea selection and it was a welcome treat, with Jenson a mere four weeks old. This summer I was invited back* to try an evening meal – and I was not disappointed.

My mum came over to watch Jenson so we could enjoy what was possibly the classiest date night we’ve had so far. If you’re looking to treat yourself or have a special occasion coming up, I really do recommend glamming up and heading to The Alverton for a swanky meal. We were treated to three courses each plus a bottle of red – and a cocktail for yours truly.

Dinner at The Alverton, Truro

Dinner at The Alverton, Truro

I’m a nice blogger so I wanted to try and order different courses where possible but we both needed some steak and red wine in our lives! For starters, Luke went with the marinated pressed belly pork with cauliflower and apple mash (I had a bite – twas goooood!) and I was actually adventurous for the first time in my life and tried the scallops. I’ve not had a helluva lot of different seafood before (crazy living where I do) and thought I’d give it a go. They were served with crisp pancetta, parmentier potatoes, peppercorn sauce and shaved parmesan and oh my gosh it was amazing! Turns out I love scallops!

Dinner at The Alverton, Truro

Dinner at The Alverton, Truro

Dinner at The Alverton, Truro

It’s rude not to have dessert, ammiright? Luke went for the dark chocolate fondant with clotted cream and I had the triple chocolate cheesecake with vanilla ice cream, caramelised banana and honeycomb. Usually, when I’m already feeling full, I go with a fruity dessert (the mango parfait would have been a good choice) but I was hankering after chocolate. Unfortunately my eyes were waaay bigger than my belly – but I had a good go on it!

Dinner at The Alverton, Truro

It was a lovely evening and it was so nice to have a posh night off being parents. The staff were friendly and attentive and the venue is nothing short of incredible. They’ve just been awarded a second Rosette from the AA and earlier this year they won Best Venue in Cornwall at the South West Wedding Awards and Best City Venue in the UK Wedding Awards. It’s not hard to see why. A wedding reception was being held at the hotel when we arrived and it looked pretty spectacular. I’ve never given it much thought before but I reckon I could totally be happy getting married there. I might have even had a quick look at their offers! Hey, Luke did remind me the other day that women can ask men too!

*I was invited to The Alverton for a complimentary meal for two but all opinions are my own

Join the discussion...

