Jenson’s first birthday

I’ve already shared Jenson’s one year update and his at-home cake smash but I haven’t blogged about the actual day yet. It really was a perfect day and everything I hoped for our son’s first birthday.

jensons first birthday

Usually one of us gets up with Jenson in the morning and the other ‘sleeps in’ until they have to get up for work but as we were both off for his birthday we both got up at the same time so we could see his face when he came down in the morning. It’s safe to say the balloons were a big hit and he even showed interest in his cards and presents – not just the wrapping! I think it’s the only year that children are actually interested in cards! FYI, Olaf makes a great teething toy!

jensons first birthday

jensons first birthday

jensons first birthday

It wasn’t long before family and friends started dropping round for his party – luckily the early birds were happy to help set up! We had planned a picnic in the park behind our house and luckily it stayed dry – in fact, it was a bloody gorgeous day!

I don’t know how I thought I was going to do everything myself. Jenson didn’t want a morning nap because of all the excitement so Luke stayed with him while I tried to get all of the Iceland party food in rotation in the oven and my mum and aunts took the decorations out to the picnic tables. I don’t know what I would have done without them!

I don’t think it’s right to share photos of other people’s children on here, so here’s a select few from the party of the birthday boy himself. He bleddy loves dem swings!

jensons first birthday party

jensons first birthday party

jensons first birthday party

jensons first birthday party

We didn’t actually light the candle on his (Paw Patrol!) cake in the end because it was a bit breezy out – probably for the best because Jenson just wanted to grab it and put it in his mouth!

jensons first birthday cake

jensons first birthday cake

Jenson is so lucky to have so many lovely people in his life. Nearly everyone made the party (all of his little friends did!) and he had so many incredible presents. It took a couple of days to get through them all!

jensons first birthday

Believe it or not, we still don’t have a family photo! This is one of my favourites of the day though. Jenson’s Aunty Toni snapped it and it’s been my Facebook profile pic ever since. It’s very rare that I find a photo of me post-baby that I don’t instantly hate and this one still makes me smile every time I look at it.

jensons first birthday

After all the excitement, Jenson finally went down for a nap at about 3pm. It lasted all of half an hour! Helluva day!

We got a balloon in a box from Card Factory which he loved – the balloon is actually still going! The birthday box is now housing his cards, gift tags, ribbons, some party accessories, his birthday boy t-shirt and cake smash vest so we can store it all as a little memory box of the day. His photos have also just arrived so I’ll be able to update his scrapbook for the day too. I’ll give that a little share over here and on Instagram cos it’s gonna be rather cute!

I think we had the right idea having an outdoor party – just bung everything in a bin bag and go home! Maybe we’ll try something on the beach next year.

One thought on “Jenson’s first birthday

Join the discussion...

